Going to India

ImageI am in a frenzy. I just learned that I am going to Mumbai in only a couple of weeks with work. I have been preparing quite a while and did take the vaccines a month ago. Just in case it would all come together in the end! And it did. 🙂

This week the hotel and plane tickets got booked. And today I went to the Indian embassy and applied for a Visa.
11 days in India! What a treat!
I do love traveling, but have never travelled out of Europe!

I do not think I have ever been this exited for traveling anywhere before. A new language, culture, new people, new smells, new food and a lot of stuff to learn.

I am not sure even how you say politely Hello in Hindi. Any tips will be much appreciated! I have been doing Yoga for some years, so I know the praying hands in front of the breast thing while saying Namaste. But I am not sure this is the proper thing to do when you meet colleagues out for a dinner date? Or meet Hotell or restaurant staff.

I work with a team in India now, via Skype, and I will learn to know two more teams on this trip, and all I know is that some of my developers sometimes say Ya on Skype. Which means yes. They are sooo good in English so Hindi or their other languages seldom pops up.

The Hotel seams to have a proper Spa… And I am thinking that I should indulge! I have actually not been to a spa since my wedding hen party, so it surely must be time to do it again. There also is a big outdoor swimming pool on the roof, and I am a keen swimmer, so I might be found there in the mornings. To leave home in minus 10 degrees Celsius for plus 30 sounds like a sweet deal right about now.

Picture og beautiful Sridevi in a colorful Sari!
This lovely picture of the actor Sridevi is from the feelgood movie English Vinglish which I adore!
A sweet gem of a movie.

And some shopping?
Some say: You have to buy a Sari. And yes they look sooo luxurious and feminine. But would I ever use it here at home? I am thinking no. But scarves big and small I would most certanly  use. Maybe something to wrap around me on the beach? Jewelry is also supposed to be available and reasonably priced.

Something else?
If you have been to Mumbai or India and have tips on shopping, language, culture or other things, please do leave a comment!

Image

Leave a Reply

